Convention: Nominations

77th Convention of the LCMS Southern District and the Southern District Church Extension Fund

Romans 10:15 – And how are they to preach unless they are sent? As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the good news!”

Who Can Submit Nominations?

      • Congregations of the Southern District meeting in assembly can decide by vote who they will nominate.

Items for Consideration in Making Nominations

      • The proper filling of district offices, boards, and committees depends on thoughtful nominations.
      • Each voting congregation shall be entitled to nominate one ordained minister from the ordained minister’s roster of the Synod as candidate for President (SO District Bylaw Article V.A.1).
      • Each voting congregation is also requested to nominate one ordained minister and one lay member from their circuit to serve on the Board of Directors (SO District Bylaw Article V.B.1).
      • Each congregation is finally requested to make nominations for the Southern District Nominations Committee, as well as the Southern District Church Extension Fund (CEF) Board of Trustees.
      • It is always a good practice to inquire of a person to be nominated whether he or she will be wiling to serve if elected, although it is not wrong to submit the name of a person who is yet unsure about his or her ability or availability to serve.
      • Nominations will be followed up on by the current district nominations committee.
      • Nomination ballots are available below, under “Nomination Ballots,” and links will also be emailed to congregations at the end of March 2024.

What Positions Are Open for Nominations?

      • District President – Ordained
      • District Secretary – Ordained
      • District Treasurer – Lay
      • Board of Directors – Ordained
      • Board of Directors – Lay
      • District Nominations Committee – Ordained
      • District Nominations Committee – Commissioned
      • District Nominations Committee – Lay
      • Southern District Church Extension Fund – Ordained
      • Southern District Church Extension Fund – Commissioned
      • Southern District Church Extension Fund – Lay


      • The incumbent District President is Rev. Eric C. Johnson.
      • The incumbent District President must be re-nominated. The five candidates for District President receiving the most nominations will compose the ballot.
      • Incumbents in all other offices will automatically appear on the ballot if they are eligible, and if they consent to serve.

Nomination Ballots and Deadline

      • Use the links below to access and submit nominations. Nominations are due no later than November 24, 2024. Late nominations cannot be accepted.

The Lutheran Church—
Missouri Synod

The LCMS Southern District is part of The Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod

Grace Alone - Faith Alone - Scripture Alone

Contact Us

LCMS Southern District
100 Mission Drive
Slidell, LA 70460-5216

P: 504-282-2632
F: 985-871-9696

Get Social

Connect with the LCMS Southern District on Facebook and YouTube

Donate or Make a Payment


2024 LCMS Southern District